top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Pestritto

Glittery, Golden Excitement

Updated: Dec 19, 2021



Pitch Wars has been a golden goose for me this year!  I'm so thrilled to announce that I've signed another fantastic client from this year's contest: the wonderful Samantha Rajaram (I've linked to her Pitch Wars entry so you can see why I'm insanely excited about working with her!).  I normally tend towards more commercial projects--even though as a reader I LOVE books like ALIAS GRACE, ATONEMENT, and THE GOLDFINCH--but Samantha's THE COMPANY DAUGHTERS had such an unbelievably beautiful, compelling voice that I knew I had to have it!  Her project is all the best part of literary novels to my mind, combining gorgeous introspective character moments with a fascinating setting and plot.

Also, I hinted at additional news in a previous post, and now I can finally talk about one item more in-depth.  I usually never let myself get too revved up about anything related to motion picture rights, since I've found them to be like a game involving a unicorn and lots of goalposts, BUT I am letting myself be hyped about the fact that Taylor Zajonc's THE MAW has a shopping/option agreement with Gotham!!  

(Quick teaching moment in case you haven't heard of these before: shopping agreements and option agreements are contracts for someone to exclusively pitch a book for a fixed period of time in order to try to get everything/everyone needed together to get a TV show/movie off the ground.)  


Taylor's other amazing book, THE WRECKING CREW, is being shopped around by Chris Coggins at Heroes and Villains as well, so I think there is just something about his projects that make them seem like they should be movies...and I'm also thinking that now we have two things in the pot, there is a probable chance that one of them will be optioned??  Maybe??  Hence opening the floodgates a teeny bit and letting myself get a smidge excited.  We'll see if I was right to down the road...



187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page